This is the "Home" page of the "America at War" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

America at War  

Search here to find resources on the history of America's wars.
Last Updated: Sep 24, 2015 URL: http://whslibrary.libguides.com/americawar Print Guide RSS Updates
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Research, Writing & Citation Resources

 

Online Citation Tools

 

Databases

Check out these resources in MARVEL to complete work on your project:

Annals of American History (instructions for search)

Over 2,100 original full-text source documents on United States history from 1493 to the present. Includes speeches, essays, biographies, landmark court decisions, poems, interviews, and editorials from more than 1,500 authors.

 

Military and Government Collection

Search over 600 military titles, government periodicals, trade publications and newsweeklies for topics concerning all branches of the military. Full text is available for more than a third of the periodicals indexed. Over 240 pamphlets are also included.

 

Encyclopedia Britannica Academic Edition

With access to four encyclopedias-Encyclopedia Britannica, Britannica Student Encyclopedia, Britannica Elementary Encyclopedia and Britannica Concise Encyclopedia- Britannica Online is a site for all ages. Users can locate information quickly by using Boolean operators; browsing A-Z; or typing in words, phrases, or questions to receive a list of relevance-ranked articles with related links.

World History in Context is a comprehensive online collection that uses an intuitive, Web-like interface to provide multicultural, global and research-based dynamic content that supports today’s history research requirements.

 

Ebooks

This link will take you to the Gale Ebook collection focusing on history. These collection features references works on many of America's wars. Be sure to peruse these resources for information on your topic.

 

Online Resources

The Library of Congress houses and has digitized an outstanding library of resources on all aspects of American history, including its many wars. Explore this site to find historical documents, maps, and other valuable primary source materials.

The National Archives and Records Administration (NARA) is the nation's record keeper. Of all documents and materials created in the course of business conducted by the United States Federal government, only 1%-3% are so important for legal or historical reasons that they are kept by us forever.

Those valuable records are preserved and are available to you, whether you want to see if they contain clues about your family’s history, need to prove a veteran’s military service, or are researching an historical topic that interests you.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip