This is the "Home" page of the "Researching Beyond WHS" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Researching Beyond WHS  

Last Updated: Dec 4, 2015 URL: http://whslibrary.libguides.com/beyondwhs Print Guide RSS Updates
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

First-Tier Research

To begin advanced research, you need to clearly define your topic and identify the specific pieces of information or documents for which you are searching.  You will begin this phase of research by familiarizing yourself with the topic by asking quesitons like:

  • What is the issue I am researching? 
  • Who were the key people involved with this issue or movement? 
  • What were the key events involved with this issue or movement? 
  • Are there documents that are essential to this issue or movement (speeches, letters, laws, etc.)?

By researching the answers to these general questions, you should be able to identify specific information or primary sources you would like to find. 

Places to do general research:

Use the library catalog to search our reference, ebook and video resources.

Check out Gale Virtual Reference Library for titles such as: American Decades, UXL American Decades, and Roaring 20s Reference Library.

 

Second-Tier Research

Once you have determined which documents or resources you will need, you will have to move on to more advanced, targeted research. This part of the process can seem frustrating, especially from a high school library, but with persistence and creativity, you should be able to find what you need. And of course, always ask your libararians for help!

The following resources will keep you moving:

New York Times Archives (available with PPL card):

This historical newspaper provides genealogists, researchers and scholars with online, easily-searchable first-hand accounts and unparalleled coverage of the politics, society and events of the time. The Historical New York Times with Index (1851-1993) provides search capability using subject terms and topics for focused and targeted results in combination with searchable full text, full page, and article-level images from the Historical NYT. 

Reader's Guide Retrospective (INDEX ONLY):

The 1890-1982 is an online index to over 3 million articles from approximately 374 popular magazines.  Use this to search for articles and primary sources that pre-date the scope of the MARVEL! 

Library of Congress:

Our national library has scores of information for you to use and great links to help you track down the particular resources you are searching for. 

Annals of American History: 

Over 2,100 original full-text source documents on United States history from 1493 to the present. Includes speeches, essays, biographies, landmark court decisions, poems, interviews, and editorials from more than 1,500 authors.

WorldCat:

WorldCat connects you to the collections and services of more than 10,000 libraries worldwide

 

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip