This is the "Home" page of the "Current Events" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Current Events  

Last Updated: Feb 11, 2016 URL: http://whslibrary.libguides.com/currentevents Print Guide RSS Updates
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Wall Street Journal

   Click the logo for full-text archives or click here to go to the homepage of the Wall Street Journal.

 

Los Angeles Times

Click the logo for full-text archives or here to go to the homepage of the Los Angeles Times.

 

Washington Post

Click the logo for full-text archives or here to go to the homepage of the Washington Post.

 

Database Resources

Each single-themed, 12,000-word report is researched and written by a seasoned journalist. The consistent, reader-friendly organization provides researchers with an introductory overview, which includes three pro-con debates; a background and chronology on the topic; an assessment of the current situation; tables and maps; a pro/con debate by representatives of opposing positions; and bibliographies of key sources.

Thousands of magazines, newspapers, and reference books are available anywhere in the State of Maine through the online resources of MARVEL! Maine's Virtual Library, a service of Maine InfoNet.

Provides the full text of more than 500 U.S. and international news sources. Includes The New York Times, Wall Street Journal, Boston Globe, and the Times of London, plus hundreds of other news sources and news wires. Years of coverage vary by title. Maine papers included: Bangor Daily News (1992+), Portland Press Herald (1995+), and selected business coverage from Maine Times (1994-2002) and Central Maine Morning Sentinel (1993-1997).

Indexing to and full text coverage of the nation"s leading business daily from 1984.

Points of View Reference Center is a full-text database designed to provide students with a series of essays that present multiple sides of a current issue. The database provides more than 270 topics, each with an overview (objective background/description), point (argument), counterpoint (opposing argument), and Critical Thinking Guide.

Maine Newstand

Index to and full text coverage of five Maine newspapers. Database includes coverage of the Bangor Daily News (12/3/92-present), the Kennebec Journal (Augusta) (6/11/93-present), the Portland Press Herald (10/30/95-present), Lewiston Sun Journal (2006-present) and the Central Maine Morning Sentinel (Waterville) (8/12/93-present). Selected business coverage of the Maine Times (2/4/94-4/25/02) is also included. Updated daily.

 

NoodleTools Access & Tutorial Links

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip