This LibGuide contains research, writing, and citation resources needed for the project.
Last Updated: Jan 28, 2015
Check here for in-depth tutorials on using NoodleTools.
Databases: (access to artices)
- ERIC (Education Resource Information Center)
ERIC provides access to education literature and resources. The database contains more than 1.3 million records and provides access to information from journals included in the "Current Index of Journals in Education" and "Resources in Education Index."
- CQ Researcher
CQ Researcher provides award winning in-depth coverage of the most important issues of the day. Their reports are written by experienced journalists, footnoted and professionally fact-checked. Full-length articles include an overview, historical background, chronology, pro/con feature, plus resources for additional research. Graphics, photos and short "sidebar" features round out the reports. Shorter "Hot Topics" articles provide a solid introduction to subjects most in demand by students.
- Academic Search Complete
Academic Search Complete is a large scholarly, multi-disciplinary, full-text database, with more than 7,400 full-text periodicals, including more than 6,300 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 11,500 scholarly, popular, trade, and special interest serials, and a total of more than 12,000 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, and more. Updated daily.
Links to specific articles:
- Youth Volunteerism in CQ Researcher
An article about whether or not schools should require students to perform public service.
- The Shelter Concert Series: Reflections on homelessness and service learning.
The Shelter Concert Series was a service-learning project conducted in coordination with a university-music programme and a shelter for individuals experiencing homelessness. Students performed weekly concerts, including a jazz band, steel band, clarinet duet, old time ensemble, acoustic guitarist, rhythm and blues band and a classical vocalist. This article offers a reflective account of practice based on qualitative research.
- GVRL (Gale Virtual Reference Library)
Gale Virtual Reference Library offers an online collection of premier reference eBooks including encyclopedias and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research. The collection contains the following subjects: art, biography, business, education, environment, history, information and publishing, law, literature, medicine, multicultural studies, nation and world, religion, science, social science, and technology.
You can search a single eBook or across an entire eBook collection.
- Moral Development and Education
This book discusses how service learning helps at-risk teens.
This book discusses volunteering in schools and how service learning is used incorporated in schools.
- Generosity/Selfishness International Encyclopedia of the Social Sciences
A brief overview of altruism, generosity, and volunteerism.